Original paper

Typology of Danube River sections based on environmental characteristics and benthic invertebrate assemblages

Moog, O.; Sommerhäuser, M.; Robert, S.; Battisti, T.; Birk, S.; Hering, D.; Ofenböck, T.; Schmedtje, U.; Schmidt-Kloiber, A.; Vogel, B.

Large Rivers Vol. 18 No. 1-2 (2008), p. 127 - 144

25 references

published: May 21, 2008

DOI: 10.1127/lr/18/2008/127

BibTeX file

ArtNo. ESP142016601010, Price: 29.00 €

Download preview PDF Buy as PDF


Based on a synopsis of environmental, mostly eco-geographical and hydraulic features and a multivariate ordination analysis of the benthic invertebrate assemblages, the Danube could be partitioned into ten Danube River sections: Upper Course of the Danube, Western Alpine Foothills Danube, Eastern Alpine Foothills Danube, Lower Alpine Foothills Danube, Hungarian Danube Bend, Pannonian Plain Danube, Iron Gate Danube, Western Pontic Danube, Eastern Wallachian Danube, and Danube Delta. The composition of the benthic invertebrate fauna within these sections is comparatively similar compared to the faunas of the other sections. This Danube Section Typology may serve as a foundation to conduct a reference-based quality assessment of the ecological river status.


Benthic invertebratesDanube section typesriver typologyWater Framework Directive