Original paper

Die Stratigraphische Kommission der Deutschen Union der Geologischen Wissenschaften (DUGW)

Lüttig, G.


The German Union of the Geological Sciences is equivalent to an IUGS National Committee for the Federal Republic of, Germany. A particular system is used within the Union for electing the members from among representatives of the national geoscientific societies, the Geological Surveys, and geologists in industry. The Stratigraphical Commission democratically reconstituted itself under the preliminary statutes, which are draftet by the author, and began work with 8 Subcommissions. This article describes the structure of the Commission and Subcommissions and their priority tasks.