Original paper

The genus Xerula (Agaricales; Fungi) in Australia and New Zealand

Petersen, Ronald H.

Nova Hedwigia Band 87 Heft 1-2 (2008), p. 1 - 67

published: Aug 1, 2008

DOI: 10.1127/0029-5035/2008/0087-0001

BibTeX file

ArtNo. ESP050008701001, Price: 29.00 €

Download preview PDF Buy as PDF


Based solely on macro- and micromorphology, 11 taxa of Xerula are described from Australia and New Zealand, including 10 species and one variety. Australia appears to support nine species, while New Zealand has only one (X. colensoi). All species of Xerula in Australia and New Zealand belong in sect. Albotomentosae (none from sects. Xerula or Radicatae). Xerula atrocaerulea, X. trichofera, X. flavo-olivacea and X. variabilis are described as new species, X. flavo-olivacea var. kimberleyana as a new variety, while X. mundroola, X. colensoi, X. gigaspora, X. superbiens, X. eradicata, all previously published epithets, are accepted at species rank.