Original paper

Some observations on the three subalpine biogeoclimatic zones in British Columbia, Yukon and Mackenzie District

Krajina, V. J.

Phytocoenologia Band 2 Heft 3-4 (1975), p. 396 - 400

11 references

published: Jun 18, 1975

BibTeX file

ArtNo. ESP024000203005, Price: 29.00 €

Download preview PDF Buy as PDF


In summary, three subalpine biogeoclimatic zones are distinguished in British Columbia, the Yukon, and the Mackenzie District of the Northwest Territories: the coastal mountain hemlock (MH) zone and the Engelmann spruce-subalpine fir (ESSF) zone occur only in British Columbia, whereas the third zone, the spruce-willow-birch (SWB) subalpine zone occurs only in the most northern parts of British Columbia and mainly in the Yukon and the Mackenzie District. Its upper shrub subzone, characterized by willows (mainly Salix pulchra and S. glauca) and especially by resin birch (Betula glandulosa), occurs down to the coast of the Beaufort Sea where it used to be called as the Low Arctic Zone. The Canadian High Arctic Zone is rather similar to the alpine tundra biogeoclimatic zone of the Canadian subarctic regions.


biogeoclimatic zonestundraalpinespruce-willow-birchBritish ColumbiaYukonMackenzie DistrictNorthwest TerritoriesBritish Columbia